Eurasian Economic Union launches talks with Serbia

The Supreme Council of the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) decided to start negotiations with Serbia on a trade regime unification.

Source: Tanjug
The meeting in Astana on Tuesday (Tanjug/AP/Sputnik/Kremlin Pool Photo)
The meeting in Astana on Tuesday (Tanjug/AP/Sputnik/Kremlin Pool Photo)

This comes in an effort to create a free trade zone for all countries of the Union and the Balkan country, Trade Minister of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) Veronica Nikishina told reporters.

“Currently, three EEU countries- Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus - have free trade zone agreements with Serbia. At the same time there are deviations between some provisions of those agreements,” Sputnik cited Nikishina as saying.

No such regime has been established between Serbia and Armenia and Kyrgyzstan, so the bilateral trade in goods between the countries is being conducted under a preferential regime. For example, the same customs rate is applied, as for other partners in the World Trade Organization.

The EEU Supreme Council is holding a meeting in Astana. Russian President Vladimir Putin and his counterparts from Kazakhstan, Belarus, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan are considering further integration prospects within the organization.

The EEU, which has for over 180 million consumers, is particularly interested in the common oil and gas market and the cooperation with other countries, Serbia included.

Business & Economy

page 1 of 16 go to page