National Assembly elects Serbia's new government

The Serbian National Assembly in Belgrade late on Thursday elected new Prime Minister Ana Brnabic's government with 157 votes for, and 55 against.

Source: B92, Beta, Tanjug

212 out of 250 deputies were in attendance. There were no abstentions.

The new government needed at least 126 votes to be elected.

A little after 20:00 hours CET the new prime minister and her cabinet took the oath of office, in the presence of mostly members of the ruling majority, and guests.

The text of the oath reads as follows:

"I swear that I will be loyal to the Republic of Serbia and I pledge with my honor that I will respect the Constitution and the law, that I will perform the duty of the government member conscientiously, responsibly and committedly and that I will be dedicated to keeping Kosovo and Metohija within the Republic of Serbia".

After the ceremony, the Serbian national anthem was played, while members of the Guard unit of the Serbian Army were lined up at the entrance to the Assembly.

The ceremony was attended by President Aleksandar Vucic, President of the Vojvodina Provincial Assembly Istvan Pasztor, Belgrade Mayor Sinisa Mali, representatives of Serbia's judicial organs, the Army, security services, religious communities, and the diplomatic corps.


page 1 of 63 go to page