Trump makes his first WB decision - to keep black list

US President Donal Trump has made his first decision concerning the Western Balkans.

Source: B92,
(Getty Images, file)
(Getty Images, file)

Namely, Trump signed the continuation for another year of "the National Emergency with Respect to the Western Balkans" - first introduced 16 years ago by George Bush.

"On June 26, 2001, by Executive Order 13219, the president declared a national emergency with respect to the Western Balkans, pursuant to the International Emergency Economic Powers Act, to deal with the unusual and extraordinary threat to the national security and foreign policy of the United States constituted by the actions of persons engaged in, or assisting, sponsoring, or supporting extremist violence in the Republic of Macedonia and elsewhere in the Western Balkans region, or acts obstructing implementation of the Dayton Accords in Bosnia or United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244 of June 10, 1999, in Kosovo," the White House announced on its website.

The media in Sarajevo reported about this noting that SNSD leader and Serb Republic (RS) President Milorad Dodik was added to the list early this year.

"The actions of persons threatening the peace and international stabilization efforts in the Western Balkans, including acts of extremist violence and obstructionist activity, continue to pose an unusual and extraordinary threat to the national security and foreign policy of the United States," the White House said, citing Trump's decision, and added:

"For this reason, the national emergency declared on June 26, 2001, and the measures adopted on that date and thereafter to deal with that emergency, must continue in effect beyond June 26, 2017. Therefore, in accordance with section 202 of the National Emergencies Act, I am continuing for one year the national emergency with respect to the Western Balkans declared in Executive Order 13219."

Based on the 2001 decision, a black list was formed of persons and organizations that the US government and companies are prohibited from cooperating with, and whose assets and money transactions are blocked in that country, Sarajevo-based Dnevni Avaz reported.

The daily added on its website the list, as previously published, contains, "among others," the names of Radovan Karadzic, Biljana Plavsic, Sonja Karadzic-Jovicevic, Momčilo Krajisnik, Ljiljana Zelen-Karadzic, Aleksandar Karadzic, Milovan Bjelica, Ljubomir Borovcanin, Stojan Zupljanin, Dusko Sikirica, Milan Simic, Senad Sahinpasic, Hasan Cengic, Bakir Alispahic, Ljubo Cesic, Valentin Coric, Savo Krunic, Zoran Petric, Naser Kelmendi.


page 1 of 15 go to page