Serbia crowned European water polo champion

The Serbian men's national water polo team won the gold medal at the 31st European Championship by beating hosts Hungary 12-7 in Budapest late on Sunday.

Source: Tanjug

It is the third European gold medal for Serbia, after triumphing in Belgrade in 2006 and in Eidnhoven in 2012.

The Serbian men's water polo team also won the silver medal in Malaga in 2008 and the bronze medal in Zagreb in 2010.

The winners of the gold medal in Budapest are Gojko Pijetlović (Oradea), Dušan Mandić (Partizan), Živko Gočić (captain, Szolnok), Sava Ranđelović (Red Star), Miloš Ćuk (Eger), Duško Pijetlović (Pro Recco), Slobodan Nikić (Galatasaray), Milan Aleksić (Szolnok), Nikola Rađen (Olympiacos), Filip Filipović (Pro Recco), Andrija Prlainović (Pro Recco), Stefan Mitrović (Szolnok) and Branislav Mitrović (Eger).

Italy won the bronze medal by beating Montenegro 11-9.

The next European water polo championship will be held in Belgrade in 2016.


WWI memorial plaque revealed in Niš

A memorial plaque marking 100 years since the beginning of the First World War was revealed on Monday in Serbia's southern town of Niš.

Society Monday, July 28, 2014 16:21 Comments: 0
page 1 of 21 go to page