Serbia gets new government, ministers take oath of office

A new Serbian government was elected in the National Assembly on Thursday with 163 people's deputies voting in favor.

Source: B92, Tanjug

62 were against, and there were no abstentions. 25 deputies were not present in the hall.

Vucic's new cabinet has 16 ministries and three ministers without portfolio.

Congratulating the prime minister and the ministers, Serbian Assembly President Maja Gojkovic announced that the oath-taking ceremony would take place at 19:00 CET.

The 4-year mandate of the new government started to run from the moment the ministers took their oath of office, the text of which is as follows:

"I pledge to be loyal to the Republic of Serbia and promise with my honor to obey the Constitution and laws, and to carry out the duty of a government member conscientiously, responsibly and diligently, committed to preserving Kosovo and Metohija within the Republic of Serbia."

The government was elected after it was presented and then debated during a special Assembly session that started on Tuesday.

The second day of the debate was marked by polemics between some opposition deptues and Vucic, and verbal clashes between the Assembly president and the leader of the DJB Movement, Sasa Radulovic.

At the end of the debate, Vucic promised citizens his new cabinet would "work diligently, honestly, responsibly, and in their interest."

He also announced that the government would meet for the first time on Friday, "at 06:30 CET."

The cabinet


- Prime Minister Aleksandar Vucic
- First Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Ivica Dacic
- Deputy Prime Minister and Interior Minister Nebojsa Stefanovic
- Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Construction, Transport and
Infrastructure Zorana Mihajlovic
- Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Trade, Tourism and
Telecommunications Rasim Ljajic
- Finance Minister Dusan Vujovic
- Minister of Economy Goran Knezevic
- Minister of Agriculture and Environmental Protection Branislav
- Minister of Energy and Mining Aleksandar Antic
- Justice Minister Nela Kuburovic
- Minister of Public Administration and Local Self-Government Ana
- Defense Minister Zoran Djordjevic
- Minister of Education, Science and Technological Development
Mladen Sarcevic
- Minister of Health Zlatibor Loncar
- Minister of Labor, Employment and Veteran and Social Affairs
Aleksandar Vulin
- Minister of Youth and Sport Vanja Udovicic
- Minister of Culture and Information Vladan Vukosavljevic
- Ministers without portfolio Jadranka Joksimovic, Slavica Djukic
Dejanovic and Milan Krkobabic


page 1 of 69 go to page