Final election results announced; we compare them with 2014

The Republic Electoral Commission (RIK) late on Thursday announced the final, official results of the early parliamentary election held in Serbia on April 24.

Source: B92
(Tanjug, file)
(Tanjug, file)

Compared with the previous election for the National Assembly, held in 2014, when seven lists, including three representing minorities, won seats, this time deputies will come from 12 lists - seven that had to cross the 5-percent threshold, and five minority lists that did not have to meet this requirement.

As was the case in 2014, a pre-election coalition gathered around Aleksandar Vucic's Progressives (SNS) won - two years ago they took 48.35 percent of all cast votes and secured 158 seats in the Assembly, while now they had 0.10 percent less votes, which translates to 131 deputies.

The Party of United Pensioners (PUPS) was this time on Vucic's list. Ahead of the 2014, they partnered with the SPS and United Serbia (JS), when these three won 13.49 percent (44 seats). This time, the parties of Ivica Davic and Dragan Markovic received 10.95 percent (29 seats).

Vojislav Seselj's Serb Radicals (SRS) made the biggest progress by returning to the Assembly after failing to cross the threshold two years ago. The SRS will be the biggest opposition party, having taken 8.10 percent (22 seats).

The Enough is Enough Movement two years ago received only 2.09 percent of the votes cast - but this time the figure is 6.02 percent (16 seats).

The coalition gathered around the Democratic Party (DS) this time took 0.01 percent - and three seats less than in 2014, and will also have 16 deputies (6.02 percent).

The Democratic Party of Serbia (DSS) failed to cross the threshold in 2014, receiving 4.24 percent. This year, in coalition with the Dveri Movement - which two years ago also ran alone and took 3.58 percent - was more successful after repeat voting at 15 polling stations on Wednesday. The Dveri-DSS coalition will thus have 13 deputies (5.04 percent).

Cedomir Jovanovic, whose LDP failed to win any seats in 2014, is now back in the assembly as part of the SDS-LDP-LSV coalition which received 5.02 percent of the vote and will have 13 deputies.

Boris Tadic's SDS will be a "new" party in the Assembly, considering they were previously known as the New Democratic Party, winning seats under this name in 2014 in a broad coalition of six parties, including Nenad Canak's LSV.

In 2014, only three minority parties made it to parliament - the Alliance of Vojvodina Hungarians (SVM), SDA Sandzak, representing Bosniaks (Muslims), and the PDA, representing ethnic Albanians. This time they are joined by Muamer Zukorlic Bosniak Democratic Alliance, and the Green Party, which represents ethnic Slovaks.


page 1 of 72 go to page