Latest unofficial results show 7 lists crossed threshold

The Republic Electoral Commission late on Monday announced the results of Serbia's early parliamentary elections based on 98.56 percent of election material.

Source: B92, Tanjug

According to these results, the Progressives (SNS) won 48.23 percent (131 seats), followed by the SPS-JS coalition (10.98 pct - 29 seats), the Radicals (SRS, 8.09 pct - 22 seats).

The coalition gathered around the DS took 6.04 percent (16 seats), the Enough is Enough Movement (6.03 percent - 16 seats), the SDS-LSV-LDP coalition (6.04 pct- 13 seats), and the DSS-Dveri coalition (5 pct - 13 seats).

Four minority lists will also be represented in Serbia's new National Assembly: the Alliance of Vojvodina Hungarians (1.51 percent of vote - four seats), Muamer Zukorlic's BDZ (0.84 percent - 2 seats), Sulejman Ugljanin's SDA (0.78 percent - 2 seats), the Movement for Democratic Action Ardita Sinani and the Green Party - one seat each.

The commission said that the turnout in the April 24 voting reached 56.25 percent.

Elections in Serbia are held under a proportional representation system in a single, nationwide constituency, with closed party-list representation, and the 250 seats distributed in proportion to the number of votes received by each party-list.

Only electoral lists which have received more than five percent of the total number of votes cast in the elections take part in the distribution of the seats - this rule does not apply to electoral lists of political parties of national minorities, who can take part in the distribution of the seats regardless of the number of the votes they received ("natural threshold" principle).

Serbia's new government will be elected in a vote in the National Assembly and must be supported by at least 126 deputies.


page 1 of 71 go to page