EU signs SAA with Kosovo

Kosovo has signed the Stabilization and Association Agreement (SAA) with the European Union in Strasbourg on Tuesday.

Source: Tanjug

Tanjug said this was announced by Maja Kocijancic, a spokesperson of High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini.

The SAA was signed by Mogherini and Commissioner for European Neighborhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations Johannes Hahn on behalf of the European Union, and Prime Minister Isa Mustafa on behalf of Kosovo.

This is the first legal document signed between Kosovo and the EU, and Tanjug reported it learned from the European Commission that the document is modeled after similar agreements the EU has with territories that are not internationally recognized as independent states, such as Taiwan, and is without prejudice to the issue of Kosovo's status.

Although Kosovo officials are trying portray this event as a step towards the accession of Kosovo to the EU, the organization's officials pointed out that this is not the case.

"The first step towards enlargement is to seek candidate status, Kosovo cannot do that for as long as it is not recognized as independent by all EU member states and European institutions," an EU official who wished to remain anonymous has been quoted as saying.

Spain, Slovakia, Cyprus, Greece, Romania do not recognize Kosovo, while European institutions maintain neutrality toward its status and add an asterisk to its name in official documents.

Ethnic Albanians in this southern Serbian province unilaterally declared independence in early 2008. Serbia considers the proclamation a violation of its Constitution and territorial integrity.


page 1 of 72 go to page