Three more officials leave Democratic Party

A day after former Serbian President Boris Tadić revealed that he had left the Democratic Party (DS), three more officials have done the same.

Source: B92, Beta, Blic, Tanjug

During a session of the DS Presidency on Friday in Belgrade, Marko Đurišić, Miodrag Rakić, and Aleksandar Senić announced they were no longer members of this opposition party

Đurišić was the DS Presidency secretary, Rakić was a vice-president of the party, while Senić is an MP on the DS ticket.

The daily Blic is reporting that Đurišić will take on the role as "chief of election staff for Boris Tadić." He did the same job when Tadić, then the leader of the DS, successfully ran in presidential elections in 2004 and 2008.

Beta, meanwhile, is reporting that Rakić and Senić intend to wait for Tadić's decision on his possible political engagement.

The news agency also said it learned unofficially that of the 43 DS MPs in the now dissolved parliament, 17 intend to leave the party.

The DS Political Council is now expected to meet and discuss the situation in the wake of the departure of Tadić and three other senior officials.

Tanjug is reporting that the council will deal with the party's position ahead of the March 16 parliamentary elections, the situation within the DS, "and possible measures that may have to be implemented."


Former president leaves Democratic Party

Former Serbian President Boris Tadić has left the now opposition Democratic Party (DS), which he led from February 2004 until November 2012.

Politics Thursday, January 30, 2014 16:57 Comments: 5
page 1 of 68 go to page