35 countries to take part in ICJ case

THE HAGUE -- The International Court of Justice (ICJ) confirmed on Tuesday that 35 UN member states have filed written statements in the Kosovo process.

The countries have given their opinion regarding the case, where Serbia is contesting the legality of the Kosovo Albanians' unilateral independence declaration made in February 2008.

Beta news agency reports that Kosovo's provisional government also submitted an opinion.

The Hague-based court said that the opinions would remain confidential for the time being.

Written statements were filed by the Czech Republic, France, Cyprus, China, Switzerland, Romania, Albania, Austria, Egypt, Germany, Slovakia, Russia, Finland, Poland, Luxemburg, Libya, the United Kingdom, the United States, Serbia, Spain, Iran, Estonia, Norway, Netherlands, Slovenia, Latvia, Japan, Brazil, Ireland, Denmark, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Maldives, Sierra Leone and Bolivia.